Tobe Cobe Jr. dolls - the IPM 2018 mascot


Tobe Cobe Jr. is a flash from the past with a fresh face

Tobe Cobe Jr., the 2018 IPM mascot, sits on a bench.

Chatham-Kent residents have no doubt seen Tobe Cobe Jr. around, taking part in a number of community events and helping generate buzz for this year’s International Plowing Match and Rural Expo (IPM).

The IPM 2018 ran from September 18 to 22 in Pain Court, Ontario.

Some folks may think this friendly, tomato-headed mascot looks familiar. They’re right. He’s based on the mascot for the 1979 IPM, held in Kent County, Tobe Cobe.

You may be wondering how Tobe Cobe’s name came to be. Well, it’s reflective of the local agricultural production in 1979:

TO – Tomato, BE – Beef, CO – Corn, BE – Beans.

And since the 2018 IPM mascot is a reinvented version, we made him a junior, updated to reflect the current agricultural production in Chatham-Kent:

TO – Tomato, BE – Beets, CO – Corn, BE – Beans.

To follow Tobe Cobe Jr.'s adventures, check out his Facebook page.


Tobe Cobe Jr. travelled throughout Canada and beyond to spread word about the upcoming IPM. Here’s a selection of photos from his journey.


Here’s a brief biography of the original Tobe Cobe:

The most recognizable figure of the 1979 International Plowing Match, Tobe Coby was also the most unforgettable.

With a tomato for a head, a beefy chest and shoulders, legs of corn and beans for feet, he's Tobe Cobe, the colourful agricultural symbol which represents Kent County, the host county for the Match.

In both name and appearance, this caricature represents the crops for which Kent County is best known.

Tobe Cobe is the brainchild of Reg Denure.

Since his creation, the original Tobe Cobe has participated in countless parades and fairs, including the 1978 Grey Cup parades in Toronto and the 1979 International Freedom Festival parade in Windsor.


The following list contains the names and contact information of the committee chairs for IPM 2018, as of July 31, 2018. 

If you are interested in volunteering with IPM 2018, please visit our Volunteer! page to find out how to get involved.     


Name Position Email Phone Number


Darrin Canniff
Leon LeClair
Co-Chairs, IPM 2018    
William Bishop
Denver Nicklas
David Murray
Brian Lunn
OPA Representatives  
Nancy Van Daele
Jennifer Pietens
Deb Hawkins
Maureen McCutcheon
Katelyn Hanuszak
Administration Coordinators  
Jean Marie Laprise Plowing Coordinator    
Leo Brown Tented City Coordinator    
Neal Craven RV Park Coordinator    
Dean Muharrem
Related Events Coordinators
Chris McLeod
Brock McGregor 
Special Features Coordinators    
Andrew Thiel
Donna Nolan
Marketing Coordinators  
Allison Terfloth Coordinator    
Deb Hawkins  Administration Coordinator Co-Chair:
Corporate Partners
Jane Lawton Benches Chair    
Katelyn Hanuszak

Administration Coordinator Co-Chair:
Volunteers & Accommodations 
Maureen McCutcheon  Administration Coordinator Co-Chair:
Cliff Quinlan  Accommodations Co-Chair    
Dean Muharrem
Related Events Coordinators
Linda Henderson Beautification Chair    
Stephanie Campbell
Sarah Van Leeuwen 
Queen of the Furrow Co-Chairs     
Tracey Lawrence
Ken White
Jane Lawton 
Jane Pinsonneault
Celebration of Excellence Co-Chairs    
Adam Snow  Airport Chair     
Vicki Carrington
Linda Lucas
Lunches Chair     
Tim Luimes  Worship Chair     
Jean Marie Laprise  Plowing Coordinator    
Scott Prichard
Terry Prichard 
Horse Management &
Horse Plowing Co-Chairs
Eric Prelaz Plowing Lands Chair    
Jim Hawkins
Dennis Atkinson
Tractor Park Co-Chairs    
Rob Abbey Parking Chair    
Leon LeClair  Traffic Chair  
Maurice Roy Wagon Tours Chair    
Paul Charbonneau Steppers/Greeters Chair    
Neal Craven RV Park Coordinator    
Leo Brown Tented City Coordinator    
Dennis Owen Tented City Vice Coordinator    
Erica Myers  Tented City Secretary    
Jan Metcalfe Accesibility Chair    
John Kopinak  Emergency Services Chair    
Lindsay Boyd Health & Safety Chair     
Hector Myers  Exhibitor Gates Chair    
Dennis Poole Site Protection Chair    
Bob Dakin
Andrew Valle
JP Belanger
Lou Belanger
Jordon Dell 
Landscaping Chair
Landscaping Committee
Landscaping Committee
Landscaping Committee
Landscaping Committee
Jaymie Waddick Local Exhibitors Chair    
Jim Millar
Bryan Myers
Sanitation Co-Chairs    
Ken Smith Water Chair    
Pat Zimmer  Internal Communications Chair     
Gloria Pegg
Lena Van Dyke
Wendy Waucaush
RV Park Registration Co-Chairs    
Erica Kitchen
Laurie Webster 
RV Park Gates Co-Chairs     
Garland Webster
Dan Zimmer 
RV Park Parking & Hookup Co-Chairs
Chris McLeod
Brock McGregor 
Special Features Coordinators    
Jerome Roy
Roger Bourassa
Jerry Meyskens 
Antiques Co-Chairs    
Kim Cooper  Opening/Closing Ceremonies Chair    
Joyce Martin-Bruce  Quilts Chair    
Bill Weaver  VIP Tent/Events Chair   
Ben Srokosz  Entertainment Chair    
Ellwood Shreve  Guinness World Records Chair    
Jean Marie Laprise  Education Chair    
Tammy Mungar Lounge Chair    
Jan McNulty
Deanna Bullard
Lifestyles Co-chairs    
 JP Huggins Parade Chair    
Maureen McCutcheon  Information Booths Chair    
Andrew Thiel
Donna Nolan
Marketing Coordinators    
Connie Beneteau  Website Chair    
Cliff Steptoe
Steve Davidson 
Souvenirs Co-Chairs    
Rob Schepanowski  Signage Chair    
Lisa Persyn Poster Chair    
Simon Crouch
Brian Worall 
Media & Media Relations Co-Chairs    
Deb Hawkins  Cookbooks Chair
Janice Lally Tobe Cobe Jr. Coordinator Chair  

IPM 2023 logox400

 Mark Your Calendars! 

104th IPM in 2023
Tuesday, September 19 to
Saturday, September 23
Bowling Green, Ontario
(between Grand Valley and Laurel)

ipm 2022 opa side bar

World Ploughing Organization

Farm Family Awards



Keep up with all the latest news!

Like us on Facebook!
Follow us on Twitter!